NIFA - Nebraska Investment Finance Authority

HomeCustomers and PartnersProgramsNewsEventsAbout NIFAContact Us
Newsletter Sign-Up

Can't find an
older news article?
Check out our archives:

Search By Month:

Advanced Search
View All articles


News: Program - Single Family

Single Family - NIFA 2009 MCC Program Public Notice



The Nebraska Investment Finance Authority (“NIFA”) proposes to implement a program (the “Program”) to provide Mortgage Credit Certificates (“MCCs”) to residents of the State of Nebraska (the “State”) who purchase new or existing residences within the State. An MCC reduces the amount of income tax a qualified homeowner pays by providing a non-refundable, federal tax credit during the life of a mortgage loan. After all other credits and deductions are taken into account, the value of the MCC is applied directly to a homeowner’s remaining tax liability.

No sooner than 90 days following publication of this Notice, NIFA intends to issue MCCs according to the guidelines summarized below. The total credit authority available under the Program is $6,250,000 which is expected to provide assistance with respect to $31,250,000 in aggregate principal amount of mortgage loans.

The annual amount of the tax credit will be equal to 20% of the yearly interest paid or accrued on the mortgage loan. The amount of the credit may not exceed the homeowner’s total tax liability for a specified year, but excess credit may be carried forward for up to three subsequent tax years. Use of an MCC will reduce the deduction for home mortgage interest on the homeowner’s tax return. An MCC expires on the date the mortgage loan relating thereto is paid in full or refinanced and is revoked on the date the residence to which it relates ceases to be the taxpayer’s primary residence. NIFA reserves the right to adjust the MCC credit rate or make allocations to specific sectors of the housing industry or to conform to market demand or future tax legislation.

To be eligible for an MCC, an applicant must (1) purchase a new or existing single family home within the State; (2) acquire a new mortgage loan (refinancing of an existing mortgage or land contract is not permissible, except for certain construction loans); (3) continuously occupy the home as a primary residence within 60 days of its purchase; (4) purchase a home with a purchase price that does not exceed $200,000 ($235,000 in Targeted Areas; (5) have a household income, including all household members age 18 and older, that does not exceed $62,000 to $83,880 for one or two person families and $71,300 to $97,860 for three or more person families (depending on location); (6) not have had an ownership interest in a principal residence within the preceding three years, except for qualified homebuyers purchasing homes in federally designated targeted areas; and (7) pay to the participating lender a nonrefundable $100 fee at the time of application and to NIFA a fee equal to 1% of the mortgage loan at the time the MCC is issued. The applicant must sign all documents and affidavits which are needed to demonstrate eligibility for an MCC, and the regulations, rulings and interpretations issued by the Internal Revenue Service shall control in the event of a conflict with other requirements. NIFA reserves the right to adjust and/or waive the application fee and adjust the purchase price and income limits for the Program to reflect housing costs and market conditions within federal guidelines.

Until the total credit authority is exhausted, a qualifying taxpayer may obtain an MCC in connection with obtaining financing relating to the purchase of an eligible residence from any participating lender, including, but not limited to, banks, savings and loan associations, mortgage banking firms and credit unions. The applicant must meet the credit and underwriting criteria established by the participating lender which provides the mortgage loan. A list of participating lenders is available from NIFA. An applicant may also obtain a loan from a lender not on this list if the lender agrees to participate in the Program. Each participating lender will be required to sign a Participation Agreement, which outlines the lender’s loan review and reporting responsibilities, and pay to NIFA a one-time fee of $300 (plus $100 per branch). MCC applications will be accepted on a first come, first served basis. There is no allocation of MCCs by lender; however, for the first year of the Program, 20% will be targeted to persons purchasing single family homes in Targeted Areas. MCCs cannot be used with NIFA-financed mortgage loans or with any mortgage loans subsidized by mortgage revenue bonds. MCCs can be used in connection with the First-Time Homebuyer Tax Credit available to eligible first-time homebuyers pursuant to the Housing and Economic Recovery Act of 2008, as amended by the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act.

Current federal tax law may require a payment to the federal government of a “recapture” tax if the homeowner sells or otherwise transfers his or her home to someone else within nine years after the MCC is issued.

For more information on the Program, a copy of the participating list of lenders or a list of the eligible Targeted Areas, contact Jacki Young at the Nebraska Investment Finance Authority, 200 Commerce Court, 1230 O Street, Lincoln, Nebraska 68508 or call (402) 434 3900.

Dated: May 6, 2009

By /s/ Timothy R. Kenny
Executive Director

Return to News Main Page

Search Site | Site Directory
Terms of Use  |   Privacy Policy  |   Copyright © NIFA
Nebraska Investment Finance Authority - NEW
200 Commerce CourtBullet1230 'O' StreetBulletLincoln, NE 68508
Phone: 402-434-3900Bullet800-204-NIFA (6432)
Fax: 402-434-3921BulletE-mail: